the buzz current events and industry news from MANSI media

Augmented Reality in Philadelphia

Video available at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qk6er5IJzsU

On Sunday May 6, 2012, The Philadelphia Inquirer will unveil the first augmented reality-powered newspaper in North America. By pointing an iOS or Android device equipped with a customized app at certain editorial or advertising content in the newspaper, readers will see static images come to digital life with videos that augment the story or advertisement on the printed page.

Partnership brings new opportunities

To achieve this technological advance, The Inquirer has partnered with Aurasma, the world’s leading augmented reality platform. The Philadelphia Inquirer will embed the digital content through “auras” that serve as triggers to unlock the enhancements, such as animations, video and audio, that complement the print content. The visual technology of Aurasma allows The Inquirer to preserve its traditional look and feel while also enabling a new interactive experience for its audience.

Merging print and online

In using this technology, The Inquirer is able to merge its print and online content, and offer an integrated experience to its audience. The Inquirer’s partnership with Aurasma sends a clear message that digital offers many advantages, and that the print edition of the newspaper is the reason those advantages exist. Possibilities for editorial and advertising tie-ins seem endless. Download your customized app in May and pick up your copy of The Inquirer at a news stand on May 6 to see the augmented reality capabilities firsthand. If you can’t wait until then, you can view a demonstration of this technology by viewing the video above.

Lisa Knight, Vice President, Advertising, lisak@mansimedia.com

Kevin Wert, Director, Client Solutions, kevinw@mansimedia.com

Wes Snider, Director, Client Solutions, wesleys@mansimedia.com

Matt Caylor, Director of Interactive matthewc@mansimedia.com

Chris Kazlauskas, Director Media Placement, chrisk@mansimedia.com

Jane Hungarter, Director, Marketing, janeh@mansimedia.com

Carin Hoover, Account Manager, carinh@mansimedia.com

Lindsey Artz, Account Manager, lindseya@mansimedia.com


Harrisburg, PA 17110
Toll free: +1 800 577-4067
Telephone:(717) 703-3043
FAX:(717) 703-3033